Home » Poems » -The Dance-

-The Dance-

I was just a lonely young man,

Until she came into my life.

As I held her in my arms,

I realized our dance had just begun.

Tears threatened to break my façade,

As I realized how small my baby was.

I watched her as she began to crawl,

Went to school, dribbled the ball.

She studied hard & played harder,

She turned out to be just like her father.

As I held her in my arms,

I realized both of us loved to dance.

Tears threatened to break my façade,

As I realized how adorable my teenage girl was.

Graceful & strong, like a beautiful swan,

She grew up to be a great woman.

No more was I the only man in her life,

For now she was ready to be a wife.

On her wedding day, as I held her in my arms,

I realized that this was our last dance.

Tears threatened to break my façade,

As I realized how big my baby had become.

I was now a lonely man,

The day she was whisked away from my life.

Image

As I watched her leave my arms,

I realized we may never have another dance.

But two years later, tears broke my façade,

As she placed her little girl into my arms.

Now I am a happy old man

With a little granddaughter

&

Oh, how we dance!

-The Nameless Poet’s Note-

Image Credits – Pascal Campion

https://thenamelesspoet.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/the-poets-note-4/

36 thoughts on “-The Dance-

  1. Well put…can feel the gamut of emotions a father must go through. Reminded me of the song “Sunrise Sunset” from the Fiddler on the Roof and the sensitivity that Tevye shows on the marriage of his daughter. Dad must be overwrought with emotions reading your words!Keep writing and sharing your thoughts with us!

  2. you have touched my sensitive chords. it sent a tingle down my spine reading this beautiful piece of art. you are truly blessed my girl.

  3. Hello my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice written and include approximately all significant infos. I would like to see more posts like this.

Leave a Reply

