Home » Articles » -The King of Clay-

-The King of Clay-

French Open 2005

It was the first time that he was playing the French Open, and yet 19 years old Rafael Nadal won his first Grand Slam at a canter.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Mariano Puerta (ARG)

6-7, 6-3, 6-1, 7-5


French Open 2006

The Majorcan got off to a slow start in the final battle against Roger but little by little, he began to take control of the match with his forehands slowly wearing away Federer’s backhand. Rafa finally won after a fourth-set tie-break, securing a second French Open title at the age of just 20.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Roger Federer (SUI)

1-6, 6-1, 6-4, 7-6


French Open 2007

 Third French Open, third title for Rafael Nadal. Once again, it was world No.1 Roger Federer who stood between Nadal and the title, with the Swiss again looking to win all four Slams in a row. The final was a tight affair but Federer was left to rue his lack of success on break points, converting just one of the 17 which came his way. And as in 2006, he fell in four sets.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Roger Federer (SUI)

6-3, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4


French Open 2008

Before, there was Borg. Then came Nadal. Thirty years on, Rafael Nadal took the former king of clay’s records and decided to emulate them. He showed his opponents no mercy, particularly in the final when he thrashed world No.1 Roger Federer.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Roger Federer (SUI)

6-1, 6-3, 6-0


French Open 2010

A year after his defeat to Robin Soderling, Spain’s Rafael Nadal exacted revenge on his conqueror in the French Open final.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Robin Soderling (SWE)

6-4, 6-2, 6-4


French Open 2011

Spain’s Rafael Nadal won his sixth Roland Garros title, joining Bjorn Borg as the most successful player in the history of the French Open.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Roger Federer (SUI)

7-5, 7-6, 5-7, 6-1


French Open 2012

History was made at Roland Garros on Monday 11 June 2012. Rain on Sunday meant that the French Open final had to be played over more than one day for the first time since 1973, but it did not stop Rafael Nadal from underlining his status as the greatest clay-court player ever. The world No.2 defeated Novak Djokovic in a 3 hour, 50 minute final spread over two days. This was the Spanish lefty’s seventh title, putting him ahead of Björn Borg as the most successful man in the history of the men’s singles at the French Open.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. Novak Djokovic (SRB)

6-4, 6-3, 2-6, 7-5

French Open 2013

The creation of tennis history, or the biggest upset in tennis history – this much was inevitable at the men’s final at Roland Garros 2013.

At the very first moment Nadal could, he grasped the match, he grasped the championship, he grasped history. It takes a strange courage to risk being on the wrong end of the greatest upset of all-time; but once again all those who came to slay Nadal were themselves vanquished instead. Plus Ultra indeed.

Rafael Nadal (ESP) def. David Ferrer (ESP)

6-3, 6-2, 6-3



2 thoughts on “-The King of Clay-

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s