Home » Random Reads » -I Will Follow You-

-I Will Follow You-

-V-

Scene One

  BANG!

  *thud*

  The sound of a gunshot broke the stillness of the night like a whip crack.

  Then there was silence.

  A minute later,

  BANG!

  *thud*

  Dead silence.

-V-

Scene Two

  A young police officer pulled the yellow tape over her head and braced herself as she entered the crime scene. It was her first case and she had no idea what to expect at all!

  As she walked up to the living room she took in her surroundings. A neat garden framed the walkway to the doorstep of a modern brick house which was decorated richly. She walked down the hallway and before she turned at the corner, she stopped.

‘Am I ready for this?

Will I be able to stomach the scene of death that awaits me?’

This wasn’t just a homicide.

It was a double homicide.

-V-

Scene Three

Two bodies.

One gun.

Blood everywhere!

Several theories and speculations –

Did he kill her and then kill himself?

Did she kill him and then kill herself?

Or

 Did someone kill them both and make it look like no one else was involved?

 The gun had distorted finger prints on it but it gave the police a fair enough idea that two people handled the gun last night.

And both of them were dead.

-V-

Scene Four

She opened her eyes. Everything was very hazy.

She blinked.

A face came into focus, slowly –

Jet black hair, bright green eyes, a crooked nose and lush pink lips smirking down at her.

Wait.

Smirking ‘down’ at her?

She jumped up!

“Whoa there tiger, take it easy”, the green eyed guy gently pushed her back onto the bed.

“But…but…wait. What happened?” , she mumbled.

“You fainted”, was the cocky retort.

It took her a minute to process it. Then –

“I…WHAT?!”

“Hahaha! Don’t worry, you’re okay now, I think. You had us worried there miss.”

The irritating green eyed guy was talking again.

“You’re okay right?” , he asked with a trace of concern in his voice.

“I fainted”, she repeated faintly.

“It’s okay kid, it was a pretty disturbing sight to take in and hey, wait! Where the hell do you think you are going?”

But she was already marching towards the bedroom door and before one could say “Robert Pattison sucks”, she had flung the door wide open.

-V-

Scene Five

Death.

It’s a strange thing actually.

It’s brutal, cruel and at the same time it’s fascinating because it’s one of the biggest unsolved mysteries on this planet.

Man can only give theories – random ideas and beliefs that there is an afterlife or heaven or hell or whatever.

I’m a cynic. I don’t believe in heaven or hell, afterlife or that born again concept.

I’m an atheist. I believe in the law of causalities – what you do unto others will be done unto you.

We can’t kill death but we certainly can put a stop to the violence, the terrorism, the murdering innocent people and sacrificing lives.

That’s why I became a cop.

I want to make a difference,

And I know I will.

-V-

Scene Six

It was a good thing he was close behind her because the brunette stumbled backwards due to the exertion of flinging the damn bedroom door open. She would have fallen on her ass if he hadn’t caught her.

‘She is such a drama queen’ he thought to himself.

Green eyes met angry brown ones – brown chocolaty ones.

“What the heck is your problem?”, angry brunette asked, angrily.

“You”, he sighed and helped her stand.

“I’m James, by the way, and you are?”, he held his hand out but she flipped her long hair, turned around and stalked off haughtily back towards the door.

He caught her arm but she slapped it away.

“I can handle it, dude” she said firmly and he watched her silently as she walked out of the bedroom and into the crime scene for the second time that day.

-V-

 Scene Seven

“I think what I just found is going to crack the case”,  said Vincent.

When she entered the living room, everyone was gathered around the lead forensics investigator.

“What you got there Vince”, Detective Joseph enquired.

“It’s a note and bloody hell, the case has just been closed.”

The note said –

‘I don’t think I would have been able to live another day without Seth by my side.

Love of mine, some day you will die
But I’ll be close behind
I’ll follow you into the dark
No blinding light or tunnels to gates of white
Just our hands clasped so tight
Waiting for the hint of a spark

If Heaven and Hell decide
That they both are satisfied
Illuminate the “No”‘s on their vacancy signs
If there’s no one beside you
When your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark’

The End

-V-

Leave a Reply

